Three Albums of Awesome: The Catch-up Edition

This here is a double-up of the usual 3AoA post – taking care of last month and this month in one hit.

It’s been a crazy month or two… sick kids and a lot of things going on that meant that I couldn’t get time in until now to put a post together for the Three Albums thread. I have been faithfully following the prescription, though, and here are the results:

AUGUST

I decided to go on a Red Hot Chili Peppers kick. This was a little difficult, since I have their entire back-catalogue, but I really enjoyed the outcome.
To be honest, I haven’t been a huge fan of RHCP in recent years. However, Chad Smith is still on my list of favourite drummers. I loved the Chilis in the early 90’s, when Blood Sugar Sex Magik was released. I still think this is their most awesome album to date. This is RHCP at their most honest, most funky and most original. I honestly think that it was downhill from here. The Red Hot Chili Peppers Anthology has lain untouched until now. I blew the dust off, and here they are:
Blood Sugar Sex Magik

How could I not? I mean, it’s only the album that influenced my drumming beyond belief.
It also inspired me to get a bit more serious about playing bass as well. I still think Flea’s Stingray has the most awesome tone ever.
Favourite tracks: All of them. Power of Equality, If You Have To Ask and My Lovely Man are a few of the stand-outs. My band in high school, Blue Steel, used to cover My Lovely Man, and it went down really well every time we played it. I think it was the first RHCP song I actually spent time learning.

Mother’s Milk

The precursor to Blood Sugar Sex Magik. Still very funky, and a bit more playful. The best track on this album is their cover of Stevie Wonder’s Higher Ground. The Chilis have managed to maintain the vibe of the original track, but have cranked up the intensity a number of notches.

Stadium Arcadium

This is probably the best of the new (read: post 1992) stuff. Call me old fashioned, but it really seemed to me that the Chilis fell from grace after Blood Sugar Sex Magik. Maybe it was the loss of John Frusciante that put a dent in their vibe, but things were never the same after that. Stadium Arcadium is definitely the closest to what the Chilis were like, back in the day.
Favourite track is Hump de Bump. Whenever these albums go on shuffle, I queue this as the first track every time. It is seriously funky and very inventive.

SEPTEMBER

I’ve decided to go with a bit of a different flavour, shall we say, experimental. Stuff I don’t normally listen to.

Alternative Duets
Terry Bozzio/Chad Wackerman


This is a double album by Terry Bozzio and Chad Wackerman. In a nutshell, it’s two guys who are two of the most insane drummers in the universe, with gigantic drum kits, playing gigantic drum kit duets. It’s a drum geek thing.

How big be the kits?
This big:

Um… yep. Big.

Dummy
Portishead

This was a bit of an impulse purchase, and I’m really looking forward to giving this some play time. I’ve heard good things about Portishead, and I enjoy some good Acid Jazz/Trip Hop at the best of times.

Decksanddrumsandrockandroll
Propellerheads

I do like a bit of electronica. Propellerhead have been a very useful practice tool for a long time. If you don’t have a metronome, get these guys on your mp3 player and groove along. It’s far more enjoyable than TICK tock tock tock, and your groove/timekeeping gets a fantastic workout. I’m looking forward to more of the same this month.

On a different note, that month of Chili Peppers has inspired me to go back and transcribe and relearn those albums. I may post some of the transcriptions for your own enjoyment.

That’s it for now… How’s your TAoA going?

~ by Tim on September 18, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
