Three Albums of Awesome – Part 5

It’s been a couple of months since I’ve updated the TAoA thread. I’ve had a few gigs and recording sessions that have demanded that I put aside my iPod and work on rehearsal tracks. Plus, on the drive to and from work, I seem to have developed a habit of listening to talkback and current affairs radio programs. Possibly I’m getting old? I hope not.

I posted a few weeks ago about my first live gig. In honour of that, nearly seventeen years later, I’d like to dedicate this month’s Three Albums of Awesome to… drum roll please… The Spin Doctors!

This month’s albums are:

Homebelly Groove

Not the Spin Doctors’ first album, but nevertheless a good one. Homebelly Groove is a compilation of live tracks that were recorded before the release of their first studio album:

Pocket Full of Kryptonite

Released in 1991, Pocket Full of Kryptonite contains the Spinnies’ best-known work. Radio hits such as Little Miss Can’t Be Wrong, Pocket Full of Kryptonite and the undeniable Two Princes assailed my ears during my time at high school. After I bought the CD, I discovered the irreverence of Off My Line, the shuffle-funk of Hard To Exist and the odd-time intro to Refrigerator Car. It’s a little bizarre to think that a relatively mainstream band gave me my first real taste of odd time signatures.

Turn it Upside Down

This album was released in the wake of Kryptonite, but was nowhere near as successful. Despite that, it still managed to sell two million units. I remember the band debuting the single Cleopatra’s Cat to the audience in Brisbane, with a great response. I bought Upside Down on the strength of that song and was quite happy with it.

Ironically, these three albums are all the Spin Doctors material I have at the moment. I think after giving these albums a workout for a month, I’ll be tracking down a few more to add to the collection.

~ by Tim on July 3, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
