First Gig?

I mentioned in the post about my first album that there were two stages to losing your musical virginity. The second stage is that of going to your first live gig. This is different to buying an album, because it’s all in the moment. You don’t get to rewind and play it again – you get one shot to enjoy it!

My first gig was in 1993. Me and my mate Simon managed to snag tickets to go and see The Spin Doctors at the now-closed-down Festival Hall in Brisbane. This was a significant moment for a number of reasons:

1. I loved the Spin Doctors – their drummer and bassist were super-funky and the bassist was also left-handed.

2. It was the Spin Doctors’ first ever gig in Australia, they were touring on the back of their Pocket Full of Kryptonite album.

3. Festival Hall isn’t there any more. It was demolished in 2003 to make way for a highrise, so to say you’ve been to a gig there is something pretty special.

4. Festival Hall wasn’t a big venue, but it had a very distinguished heritage. Before the stadium at Boondall was built, bands such as the Beatles, Led Zeppelin, Queen and U2 graced the stage at Festival Hall.


Huge, isn’t it?

We had tickets for the crappy side stalls:

Yep, the ones on the left – but a lot closer to the stage. The line array was blocking our view of about 1/3 of the stage, which we found unacceptable. We jumped the barrier and joined the moshpit at the earliest opportunity.

The Sharp were the support band for the tour, and were immensely entertaining. I wandered off to get a drink at one point, and saw the Spin Doctor’s bass player sitting side-stage watching The Sharp play their set. I waved, he came down and we had a nice chat. I can’t remember what was said, but he signed my ticket stub, which I still have somewhere… It stuck in my memory that he was friendly and approachable. I’ve tried to be the same through my music career. It hasn’t always worked – to be honest, there have been a number of times when I’ve been a cranky bastard and it’s lost me work – but it’s something that I try to aspire to be.

You know the next day you’ve had a good gig if you’re tired, your ears are still ringing and your voice is hoarse from shouting. All three of the above were definitely the case. Unlike my first album, the Spin Doctors in 1993 will definitely be a fond memory for me.

So… over to you – what was your first gig?

~ by Tim on May 15, 2010.

One Response to “First Gig?”

  1. […] posted a few weeks ago about my first live gig. In honour of that, nearly seventeen years later, I’d like to dedicate this month’s […]

Leave a Reply

 
