My First Album

There comes a time in every person’s life when they lose their musical virginity. It’s kind of an appropriate phrase, which is good, because I can’t think of any other way to describe it.

The first stage of this process is when a young person will take their hard-earned money, hie down to the local music store and buy their first, very own album. This is a heady experience, where they are making the decision to commit, and invest financially as well as emotionally into something that will remain with them for the rest of their lives…

Kind of like getting laid… πŸ˜‰ Even if we throw it out and deny it ever happened, the memories will always be with us.

Ok, time for an honest confession!

For me, this happened when I developed an obsession with Def Leppard. This was in 1992, when big hair was still (apparently) the in thing, even though two of the guys in the band had a marked absence of big hair. I was 14, easily influenced, and very impressed with this guy who could play the drums with one arm. I saw the clip for Let’s Get Rocked on Rage one Saturday morning and I was hooked. This resulted in me saving my pocket money, and buying the tape (yes, kids, CD’s were still in the realm of the rich and affluent back then) of the Lep’s album Adrenalize.


Need I say more…
I still like the band, and one day (hopefully sooner rather than later) I will make it to one of their live gigs.

Do you see what I mean? Whether it’s a good or bad decision, we’re stuck with it for the rest of our lives…

Ok now, I’ve been honest, now it’s your turn. Fess up!
What was the first album that you ever bought? Tell all in the comments!

~ by Tim on May 8, 2010.

3 Responses to “My First Album”

  1. HA HA HA HA…. Love it awesome post….

  2. APPETITE FOR DESTRUCTION !!!! Guns and Roses,
    Fantastic music, however the lyrics are well…you know πŸ™‚
    Not an album i’d play around the kids.
    Great memories from that record. I remember the longest drive home from Big W with the plastic wrapped album of rocking vinyl in my tightly gripping palms. Ohh the excitement πŸ™‚

  3. […] I mentioned in the post about my first album that there were two stages to losing your musical virginity. The second stage is that of going to […]

Leave a Reply

 
